Free Video Tutorial: Backups & iCloud Drive - Apple Mac, iPad & iPhone Tutorials from ScreenCastsOnline
Free 10 Day Trial

Tutorial Topics

Search for Tutorials Show All Tutorials Pricing About Us Free Trial

With the introduction of iCloud Drive Desktop and Documents sync in macOS Sierra, I felt it was time to revisit the how, what and where of backups.

Even with the prevalence of online backups and services, local backups are still advisable including bootable backups if you want to get back working in a hurry. In this episode, I take you through the principles of creating a local bootable backup to a USB drive, as well as setting up a Time Machine backup to the same USB drive.

In addition, I demonstrate using a NAS or Network Attached Storage device (in my case a Synology NAS) as an expandable Time Machine Backup.

Another requirement is to sometimes backup or sync files across two Macs or more, and I demonstrate setting this up using ChronoSync and ChronoAgent on your Mac.

Finally, I take a look at the recent changes to iCloud Drive with Desktop and Documents sync and assess how these changes impact on your backup strategy, as well as demonstrating how to restore deleted files and folders from iCloud Drive within the 30 day limit.

The full tutorial covers

  • Local Backups to USB Drives
  • Partitioning with Disk Utility
  • Bootable Backups
  • Time Machine - USB
  • Time Machine - Synology
  • ChronoSync
  • ChronoAgent
  • ChronoSync - Amazon
  • iCloud Drive

Show Links:

Superduper

ChronoSync & ChronoAgent

Time Machine Scheduler

Synology

Video Tutorial Comments

(1 comments posted)

Don McAllister

There's been a slight change when setting up Synology with Time Machine. Bernard Castle reports:

"I have just come across a difference in setting up Time Machine using the new DSM 6.1 on the NAS.

When you go to File Services they have changed the location for Set Time Machine Folders.

The first tab in File Services is now called SMB/AFP/NFS, here you enable SMB and AFP.

You then have to go to the Advanced Tab and go to the Bonjour Section and tick all boxes and then select Set Time Machine Folder.

By all accounts you can ignore the SMB3 warning and click Yes."

Thanks Bernard

Posting comments is restricted to ScreenCastsOnline members only.

Sign Up

Video Tutorial Transcription